Sun 06/08/2017 - 08:04 EDT

Best NFL Regular Season MVP Picks

Best NFL Regular Season MVP Picks

Manning Won Five MVP Awards in Category Dominated by QBs

The most valuable player award should be renamed the “Peyton Manning Trophy.” The future hall of fame quarterback won it a record five times.

The Associated Press has presented an MVP award since 1957. The award is voted upon by a panel of 50 sportswriters at the end of the regular season, before the playoffs, though the results are not announced to the public until the day before the Super Bowl.

Quarterbacks have won the award nine of the last 10 seasons, with Matt Ryan of the Falcons earning the honor last year. Surprisingly, he’s listed at 16-1 to repeat as league MVP. Let’s take a look at a few of the stars and try and pick a winner for this season (odds provided by

2017 NFL Regular Season MVP - Odds To Win

Tom Brady (+550)

No player in NFL history has won more Super Bowl rings than Brady, who has five. Not bad for the 199th pick in the 2000 NFL draft and the seventh quarterback taken off the board that year.

Brady recently turned 40 in this young man’s game. But the New England superstar has not lost a step, leading the Patriots in a record comeback in Super Bowl LI last season. He also posted some of the best numbers in his career. Brady completed 67.4 per cent of his passes and had a 112.2 QB rating last year — his second best totals of his 18-year career.

Brady is 183-52 as a starter in the regular season and 25-9 in the playoffs. His 208 combined wins are the most by an NFL quarterback. He has finished second in MVP voting in the last two seasons, and has won the award twice (2007, 2010).

Aaron Rodgers (+600)

Here’s another two-time winner of the MVP award (2011, 2014). Green Bay’s QB has won one Super Bowl (2010) and was also named MVP of that game.

The 33-year-old enters his 13th season with the Packers where his quarterback rating is consistently over 100. His pinpoint accuracy and ability to avoid the pass rush make everyone better around him. Former NFL QB Chris Simms told the NFL Network’s Good Morning Football that Rodgers is “the best quarterback I have ever seen.”

Rodgers threw for more than 4,400 yards, 40 touchdowns with just seven interception last season, and he finished third in the MVP voting. Those numbers are good enough to win this award.

Derek Carr (+800)

This young QB keeps getting better and better. This could be a break-out year for both Carr and the Raiders, who tied for divisional honors in the AFC West last year at 12-4. It was the team’s best finish in 15 seasons.

The knock against the 26-year-old seems to be his fragility. He suffered a dislocated finger late in the season before breaking his leg in Week 16. The Raiders’ playoff hopes went down with him. But make no mistake, this is Oakland’s franchise quarterback.

Carr and the Raiders agreed to terms on a five-year contract extension in June worth $125 million, which makes him the highest-paid player in league history.

He threw for 28 TDs against six interceptions last season with a 96.7 per cent QB rating. Raiders’ management and their fans are hoping for a lot more to come from Carr.


Ben Roethlisberger (+900)

Big Ben has won two Super Bowls (2006, 2009) but he has never been the league’s MVP. Roethlisberger, a former first-round pick in 2004, enters his 14th season as the leader of the Pittsburgh Steelers. However, a couple of factors work against the six-foot-five quarterback.

He’s surrounded by other MVP candidates in running back LeVeon Bell and wide receiver Antonio Brown. Plus, he’s injury prone. He’s only started in all 16 regular season games in three of his 13 seasons. It’s hard to get MVP votes if you’re injured on the sidelines.

Still, Roethlisberger posts a consistent QB rating year after year in the upper 90s. And here’s the most important stat of all: The Steelers have never had a losing record with him behind center.

J.J. Watt, Khalil Mack (+6600)

It’s been over 30 years since a defensive star won the award. Watt, who is coming into the season off back surgery, is a menace as a defensive end with the Houston Texans. Mack is a fierce linebacker with the Oakland Raiders. These are two great players. They’re game changers.

Both have won the defensive player of the year award. Offenses have to account for them on every play or, more often than not, they pay for it.

Pick — It’s hard to believe, but Tom Brady may be at the top of his game … even at age 40.

    View All Sports Betting Sites

    Category : Betting Picks

    Tag : Aaron Rodgers , matt ryan , MVP , nfl , regular season , tom brady

    More articles...
    Betting Picks - 18/01/22
    Australian Open 2022 Betting Picks - Mens & Women's Winners 
    Australian Open 2022 Betting Picks - Mens & Women's Winners

    The first Grand Slam tournament of 2022 is upon us and without the world's number one Novak Djokovic, it's a wide-open field for the men's game.

    It's also the first Grand Slam for Naomi Osaka since her troubles last year, and with no Serena Williams either all the women will feel they have a chance to secure the first major of the season.

    We'll take a look at the best bets for the Australian Open tournament that ends next weekend and see if we can earn you some extra cash from the tournament.

    Betting Picks - 12/01/22
    NFL Wildcard Playoffs 2022 Betting Picks 
    NFL Wildcard Playoffs 2022 Betting Picks

    We're into the business end of the season now as the NFL Wildcard round is upon us with some high-stakes games to be played this weekend.

    Those games include a huge game between the San Francisco 49ers as they take on the Dallas Cowboys, while the New England Patriots will look to overcome the odds and reach the playoffs by beating Buffalo Bills.

    Let's take a look at the best betting picks for these two games and see if we can earn you some cash from these exciting football games.

    Betting Picks - 07/01/22
    UFC 270 Betting Picks - Ciryl Gane Slight Favourite to Beat Francis Ngannou 
    UFC 270 Betting Picks - Ciryl Gane Slight Favourite to Beat Francis Ngannou

    The UFC is back for 2022 and the first numbered card of the year is headlined by the top two heavyweights in the world as undisputed champion Francis Ngannou takes on interim champion Ciryl Gane.

    Live from the Honda Centre in Anaheim, California on January 20th, the two most feared men in the organization will go head-to-head in a five-round war to crown the undisputed best heavyweight in the world right now.

    We'll take a look at the betting odds for the bout and see what picks we can find to earn you some bonus cash for the new year.

    Betting Picks - 07/01/22
    NFL 2021 Week 18 Betting Picks 
    NFL 2021 Week 18 Betting Picks

    The NFL is back once again for Week 18 and there are some stellar matchups for fans to sink their teeth into at the start of the new year.

    Among them will see the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, without Antonio Brown after last week's walk-out, take on the Carolina Panthers, while we'll also see Washington go head-to-head with the New York Giants.

    Let's take a look at the best bets for those big games and see if we can get you some extra cash for the new year after the holidays.