Jalen Hurts favorite to win NFL Super Bowl LVII MVP

Jalen Hurts favorite to win NFL Super Bowl LVII MVP

The NFL season will reach it's climax on February 12th 2023 when the Philadelphia Eagles take on the Kansas City Chiefs in the Super Bowl LVII.

The two teams with the best regular season records this season will go head-to-head to be crowned world champions for 2022/23, with their superstar players looking to be the man to bring the trophy home.

With the race for Super Bowl MVP on, we’ll look at the candidates for the award to give you our best free NFL picks, and see if we can earn you some extra cash for the end of the weekend.

Learn more about how to bet on the Super Bowl here.

Super Bowl LVII information

  • Sunday, February 12th 2023
  • State Farm Stadium, Glendale, Arizona
  • 18:30 ET

Super Bowl LVII MVP favorites

Jalen Hurts - Philadelphia Eagles - Quarterback - (+119)

Considering that 31 of the previous 57 MVP winners in the Super Bowl have been quarterbacks, it makes a lot of sense that the starting QB for the favorites to win the game is the favorite to be crowned MVP once again.

Philadelphia is currently a slim favorite for the game in the betting odds, and Hurts has been the key man all season.

The teams' lethal offense has revolved around the quarterback, who has thrown for 24 touchdowns this season and also ran for 15 more. He is the biggest dual-threat in the division when it comes to quarterbacks.

Head coach Nick Sirianni has been able to exploit many matchups against opponents because of Hurts' running abilities, and it could be key to beating the Chiefs in this one.

He is only the third quarterback to reach the Super Bowl after being his team's outright leader in rushing touchdowns during the season (13) and considering this is only his second full season as a starter, Hurts has shown excellent development when throwing from the pocket, having completed 66.5% of his throws for 3,701 yards and 22 touchdown passes.

Jalen Hurts has been the MVP of the postseason thus far and it wouldn't be farfetched for him to claim the award in the biggest game of them all if Philadelphia are successful.

Jalen Hurts to win Super Bowl LVII MVP

Check out our review for MyBookie sports betting here.

Patrick Mahomes - Kansas City Chiefs - Quarterback - (+138)

In five years with Patrick Mahomes as the starter, the Kansas City Chiefs have gone to five AFC Championships and three Super Bowls. A stunning record for one of the most gifted quarterbacks of his generation.

The one time that Kansas were successful in the Super Bowl with Mahomes he was the MVP, and the time that they lost it was the other quarterback Tom Brady who won the award.

If Mahomes is at his best then it's always difficult to stop him, but he played through the pain barrier with an ankle sprain in the last round after being forced out of the previous game. If he isn't fully recovered, then Kansas could struggle.

With that said, he still managed to complete 29 of 43 passes for 326 yards and two touchdowns — with a scramble late in the fourth quarter to set up the game-winning field goal in the clash against Cincinnati.

Mahomes already has a Super Bowl title, a Super Bowl MVP award and an MVP award, so he knows exactly what it takes to be successful and knows how much it hurts to lose too.

He's expected to win MVP again after leading the NFL in passing yards (5,250), touchdown passes (41) and Total QBR (77.5) during this regular season, so adding the Super Bowl MVP to that tally won't be a shock.

Mahomes will likely need to have an enormous game to knock off the Eagles, and he’s defied the odds all season. Still, the lasting image of his most recent Super Bowl performance was him running for his life against the dominant Buccaneers defense in Super Bowl LV.

Patrick Mahomes to win Super Bowl LVII MVP

Travis Kelce - Kansas City Chiefs - Tight End - (+1100)

The most dominant tight end in football, Travis Kelce took the Divisional Round by storm when he managed 14 catches, 98 yards and two touchdowns against the Jacksonville Jaguars, and then followed that up with seven catches for 78 yards and a touchdown in the AFC Championship, even though he was considered a doubt with a back injury beforehand.

Mahomes' favorite target seemed to be okay in that game, and with an extra two weeks to rest, recover and heal, he is likely to be a key man once again in this battle on the field.

Kelce finished the season ranked first in the NFL for receptions (110), receiving yards (1338) and receiving touchdowns (12), showing his importance to the side. He has been his quarterback’s safety net all season and has had an enormous postseason with three touchdowns and 176 receiving yards in just two games.

If he is the man on the end of all the Mahomes passes and the man scoring the points, it's not beyond the realms of possibility that he takes the MVP award for the match too.

Travis Kelce to win Super Bowl LVII MVP

Check out our review for BetOnline sports betting here.

Devonta Smith - Philadelphia Eagles - Wide Receiver - (+2800)

Last season, wide receiver Cooper Kupp won the game MVP by putting up an enormous performance against the Bengals secondary.

Smith has become more than just a big-play threat, averaging almost six catches per game this season, and if it isn't Hurts that's successful in winning the MVP award for the Eagles then it'll surely be the WR.

Hurts is the most likely candidate to win Super Bowl MVP from the Eagles, but there is a scenario where Smith steals the award with an 8-9 catch, 110-yard, two-TD performance. Just like Kelce, the price offered makes it well worth a flutter, even if it is unlikely.

Devonta Smith to win Super Bowl LVII MVP