How To Bet On AFC West

The history of the NFL’s AFC West Division is one of dominance and lately, the dominant force in this group is the Denver Broncos. Winners of Super Bowl 50, the Broncos have captured the last five AFC West titles. Since 2003, the AFC West titles have been divided among three teams – six for the Broncos, five for the San Diego Chargers and two for the Kansas City Chiefs. The retirement of Denver quarterback Peyton Manning and the departure via free agency of his backup Brock Osweiler has thrown the AFC West up for grabs in 2016. [+]

The Oakland Raiders have gone the longest without winning an AFC West title, dating back to 2002, but the Raiders were originally the scourge of the AFC East when it was formed in 1970.

The Raiders captured six of the first seven titles in the division and appeared in six of the first eight AFC Championship Games, but won only once, in 1976 after a 13-1 regular season. The Raiders went on to defeat the Minnesota Vikings 32-14 in Super Bowl XI.

Every team in the AFC West has appeared in a Super Bowl. Along with the the AFC East, they are the only AFC divisions that can make this boast. 


Best AFC West Betting Lines

We provide the best AFC West betting lines below so keep your eye on them and find the game that is most appealing. Don’t forget to take into account the variety of betting types. 


Results / FixturesNFL - afc

What Are The AFC West Standings

This is where you will find located the up-to-date AFC West standings and it could be a year of flux within the division. [+]

The uncertainty of the quarterback position would appear to make the Denver Broncos susceptible to an off year.


StandingsNFL - afc

How To Win AFC West Bets

Talk about parity, all four AFC West teams were an even 8-8 against the spread during the 2015 NFL season, a disappointment if you were wagering on the 12-4 Denver Broncos but a solid bonus if you were playing your wagers on the dismal 4-12 San Diego Chargers.

The Chargers (6-10) were a poor pick in the over/under, as were the Broncos (6-9), while the Oakland Raiders (8-6) and Kansas City Chiefs (8-7) fared better. 

In the AFL days, the teams of the current AFC West were dominant forces in early Super Bowl play. The Kansas City Chiefs represented the AFL in Super Bowl I and the Oakland Raiders were the AFL rep in Super Bowl.

Losers by a 35-10 count to the Green Bay Packers in their first trip to the big game, the Chiefs returned to throttle the Minnesota Vikings 23-7 as a 12-point underdog, becoming the first team to return to the Super Bowl after a loss and win the second time around.

The Chiefs were also the first team to win the Super Bowl as a wildcard playoff entrant and forever will be the last team to represent the AFL in the Super Bowl.

AFC West teams tend to be good bets as underdogs. The Oakland Raiders won Super Bowl XV as a wildcard and a three-point underdog. The Denver Broncos won Super Bowl XXXII as a wildcard team and an 11-point underdog. Denver also won Super Bowl 50 as a five-point underdog to the Carolina Panthers.

Teams from the AFC West are 2-3 in Super Bowls where they’ve been favored and 5-6 in Super Bowls where they’ve been the underdog.

There’s been plenty of recent speculation that the San Diego Chargers might be finding a new home and considering the history of AFC West teams, betting that the Chargers will be on the move might be playing the smart money.

Of the four AFC West teams, only the Denver Broncos have stayed put in the same city since Day 1. All four of the current AFC West teams were situated in the fledgling AFL West during that league’s first season of 1960.

The Chargers were in Los Angeles – they moved to San Diego in 1961, the Raiders were in Oakland and the fourth team was the Dallas Texans, who became the Kansas City Chiefs in 1963.

The Raiders became the second AFC West team to call L.A. home when they moved there in 1982, but the Raiders reversed course and returned to Oakland in 1995. 

# Bonus Claim Bonus